19.

1950-134-63-cxMarcel Duchamp . The King and Queen Surrounded by Swift Nudes (1912)

“I was much more interested in recreating ideas in painting. For me the title was very important. I was interested in making painting serve my purpose, and in getting away from the physicality of painting. For me Courbet had introduced the physical emphasis in the XIXth century. I was interested in ideas – not merely in visual products. I wanted to put painting once again at the service of the mind. And my painting was, of course, at once regarded as intellectual, literary painting. It was true I was endeavouring to establish myself as far as possible from pleasing and attractive physical paintings. That extreme was seen as literary. My King and Queen was a chess king and queen.”

in The Writings of Marcel Duchamp (Da Capo Press, 1989)
