23.

full-marcel-duchamp-playing-chessFotografia por Kay Ben Raynall (Nova Iorque, 1952)

“As for chess? Great, Great! I played a lot in simultaneous matches that Marshall held, playing on 12 boards at a time. And I won my match 2 times. I’ve made enormous progress and I work like a slave. Not that I have any chance of becoming champion of France, but I will have the pleasure of being able to play almost any player, in a year or two. Naturally this is the part of my life that I enjoy most. This winter I will be on Marshall’s team (his 8 best players) against the other N.Y. teams. Just as I had already done last winter – but this time I’m hoping to win a few games (wich I didn’t then) – I am crazy about it.”

M. Duchamp to Jean Crotti and Suzanne Duchamp, October 20, 1920 (Selected Correspondence)
